Situated on a low plateau overlooking the banks of the River Sor, Lempaut is a predominantly agricultural community. Beautiful buildings and châteaux (including Padiès, a remarkable building with Renaissance facades) bear witness to a past steeped in history.
In 1585, during the Wars of Religion, the town was divided into 2 parts: the fortified village and the barri (artisan and working-class suburb).
In the 17th century, public utility buildings were erected, the church was enlarged and a presbytery was built.
The Consulate of Lemaut was ruined by a series of taxes, and throughout the 17th and 18th centuries, the rural classes toiled away.
During the 19th century, Lempaut owned several brickworks, the last of which, at Montpeyroux, ceased all activity around 1968.