MUNICIPALITY OF SAINT-FELIX-LAURAGAIS
This medieval village, perched on the heights of the Lauragais, offers an exceptional view of the Pyrenees and the Montagne Noire and a rich history.
Saint-Félix-Lauragais originated in the establishment of a small Roman camp on the hill called "Des 3 moulins" (three mills), the Roman colony having settled in Saint-Julia. The population grew and the camp became a Visigothic castrum. Archaeologists discover tombs, bronze belt buckles, lacrimal vials... Around the 10th century, a stately square was built with the construction of a castle on the hill, facing the 3 mills. The seigneury held by Guillaume JOURDAIN (1035) is strong and recognized in the Toulouse region. This medieval castle was totally destroyed by Simon de Montfort during the Albigensian Crusade. From its ashes the present castle will be reborn, and the decision was taken to create a new town next to the castle.